Home | Archive | Place Classified | Subscribe | Where to Buy | About | Contact

Search only Ripley News

March 20, 2012

2011-12 South Ripley Raider basketball
teams and cheerleaders are honored

Gary Franklin
Sports Editor

The South Ripley Raider faithful had good reason to celebrate their 2011-12 varsity basketball teams throughout the season and at the final winter awards program held at SRHS on Thursday evening March 15.

SRHS Athletic Director Debbie Jett welcomed those in attendance and initiated a list of thank yous to all who had coached, played, supported and enjoyed a fine winter sports basketball season with South Ripley.

The Lady Raiders, behind the leadership of Coach Brian Samples, captured the ORVC girls basketball championship title with a perfect 6-0 record and put together a third consecutive sectional championship title win, allowing them to compete in regional action.

The Raider boys varsity followed suit as well, behind Head Raider basketball coach Travis Wrightsman, earning a co-championship ORVC title with their 5-1 record. (The co-title was shared with the Milan Indians and Co-ORVC Coach of the Year" Josh Blankinship.)

Sadly the Raider basketball teams, manager and cheerleaders have enjoyed the comradeship of many senior players for the last time in the green and white on the hardwood. Senior Raiders include: Brandon Sizemore as Ripley Publishing Co. Inc. Wm. "Tiny" Hunt Memorial Boys Basketball Player of the Year and Jessica Foster - "Girls Basketball Excellence" recipient along with Blake Davis, Whitney Walker, Amos Taylor, Kasey King, Kyle Taylor and Kaitlyn Welch, Josh Huntington - manager and cheerleaders Suzanne Fiset, Taiylor Howard and Taylor DeWitt.

Varsity Boys

Basketball Awards

Sr. Amos Taylor - Varsity Mental Attitude

Soph. Austin Halcomb - Most Improved

Jr. Cody Federmann - Most Rebounds

Sr. Blake Davis - Assists @ 60

Sr. Brandon Sizemore - FT % @ 87%

Jr. Trey Sparks - Best Defense

Sr. Kyle Taylor - Senior Academic

Boys Other

Overall Record - 16/7

ORVC - 5/1

All-Conference - Brandon Sizemore, Trey Sparks

All-County - Brandon Sizemore, Blake Davis

All-Sectional - Brandon Sizemore, Trey Sparks

2011-12 SRHS Records

716 pts. scored -

Brandon Sizemore = 17th

14 FG's in a game -

Brandon Sizemore

Brandon Sizemore - (tied)

156 3 pt attempts -

Brandon Sizemore - (New)

67 Steals -

Trey Sparks (tied)

JV Boys

Basketball Award

So. Austin Grider - JV Mental Attitude

Cheerleader Awards

So. Samanatha Wilhoit - Varsity Mental Attitude

Fr. Haley Schmaltz - Most Improved

Sr. Suzanne Fiset - Senior Academic

Fr. Courtney McGuire - JV Mental Attitude

Varsity Girls

Basketball Awards

Jr. Rachel Hensley - Best Defense

Sr. Kaitlyn Welch - Most Improved

Sr. Jessica Foster - Most Rebounds

Sr. Kasey King - Assists @ 62

Sr. Whitney Walker - FT % @72%

Sr. Kasey King - Mental Attitude & ORVC Co-MA

Sr. Kasey King - Senior Academic

Girls Other

Overall Record - 21/3

ORVC - 6/0

RCT Champs

Sectional #45 Champs

All-Conference - Jessica Foster, Kasey King, Whitney Walker

All-County - Whitney Walker (MVP), Jessica Foster, Kasey King, Kaitlyn Welch

All-Sectional - Whitney Walker (MVP), Jessica Foster, Kaitlyn Welch

JV Girls

Basketball Award

Fr. Hayley Schwarte - JV Mental Attitude

JV Overall Record - 6/14

ORVC - 2/3

Jr. High players named

The boys 7th grade team, coached by Curtis Stephen finished their season at 8/8. Team members included: Tyler Cole, Nathaniel Pelfrey, Carson Powers, Patrick Smith, Charlie Turner, Derek Turner, Devyn Turvey, Cory Walker, Ben Walston, Josh Walston and manager Hunter Mann.

The boys 8th grade team, coached by Bryan Romans, finished their season at 10/5. Team members included: Matt Bennett, Zachery Caplinger, Julian Carpenter, Caleb Cumberworth, Wyatt Elston, Andrew Herbert, Kaleb Riley, Derek Ritchie, Elijah Roepke, Zack Thompson, Ty Tucker, Dennis Turner, and manager Joe Watson.

The girls 7th grade team, coached by Wendy Meyer finished their season at 2/12. Team members included: Mackenzie Black, Katie Flint, Brittany Pickett, Emma Stuehrenberg, Hope Tankersley and Emma Wilhoit.

The girls 8th grade team, coached by Shannon Schmaltz finished their season at 3/11. Team members included: Kayla Adkinson, Ellie Ayers, Elizabeth Bodenberg, Mercedes Bowling, Sarah Bush, Lindsay Comer, Cheyenne Gayhart, Kayla KIng, Danielle Koger, Abigail Mathews, Kaitlyn Moore, Shelby Myers, Abbie Watson and Taylor Wrightsman.