Subscribe to Ripley News e-EditionDearborn County Hospital

• American Profile Magazine
• Dish TV Authorized Dealer
• ADT Security Alarm Authorized Dealer
• Southeastern Indiana Recycling District

Visit our advertiser's website by
clicking on their ad!

Osgood Journal Logo
October 7, 2014 • Sports

Pictured above is the 2014-15 annual Ripley County Middle School Cross Country Meet Boys All-County Team. For a complete list of names, pick up today's Osgood Journal at your local newsstand.
Pictured above is the 2014-15 annual Ripley County Middle School Cross Country Meet Girls All-County Team. For a complete list of names, pick up today's Osgood Journal at your local newsstand.
The 2014 Jac-Cen-Del Eagles senior soccer players pictured above from left include Blake Straub (12), Eli Wagner (19), Riley Thomas (14),
Keith Simon (23), Thiago Kronemberg (22) and Cameron Horan (24).

Tom Tepe Autocenter
Tom Tepe Autocenter
Friendship State BankKing's Daughters' HealthWhitewater Motor Company Inc.
Four Seasons Stove ShoppeYour Ad Here
Annual Ripley County MSXC Meet won by Jac-Cen-Del girls and Batesville boys
Lady Raider Megan Cole first for girls, Eagle Adrian Peetz first for boys

Gary Franklin

The annual Ripley County Middle School Cross Country Meet was hosted by South Ripley on Thursday evening, October 2, and ran at the Ohio Rod XC facility with starter Todd Yates overseeing the IHSAA sanctioned event.

Megan ColeAdrian Peetz
Pictured left are the 2014-15 annual Ripley County Middle School Cross Country Meet individual champions: South Ripley Lady Raider Megan Cole and Jac-Cen-Del Eagle Adrian Peetz.

Girls race finishes
Having only had one competitor finish within 45 seconds of her all season, SR Lady Raider eighth grader Megan Cole scurried to another victory in her finishing time of 11:57. SR Lady Raider teammate Danielle Smith clipped the course for second place with her ever improving time of 12:40.

Batesville finished third and fourth with runners Liz Loichinger at 12:49 and Melinda Eckstein 12:59. Jac-Cen-Del Lady Eagle Christina Bellingham finished fifth at 13:04. Batesville’s Lexi Huber sixth at 13:18, JCD Lady Eagles Kaylee Benham Elyse Hunger, Kaytlin Sizemore, Kadee Kuhn and Olivia Wagner seventh through 11th respectfully with times of 13:19, 13:28, 13:29, 13:32 and 13:33. Ironically Batesville earned the team win because SR did not have enough girls to make a team score; so, Batesville’s third and fourth place finishers were moved up to first and second place finishes in the team count, to give them the team win by one point. Finishing 12th through 14th were Lady Bulldog runners Isabel Smith, Carly Fitzpatrick and Allie Redwine with times of 13:36, 13:56 and 14:03 respectfully. Lady Eagle Madison Potts was 15th at 14:18, followed in 16th by Lady Bulldog Melanie Werner ats 14:23.

Milan Lady Indian runners Emma Miller at 14:34 and Margo Taylor at 14:36 earned the 17th and 18th spots. South Ripley Lady Raider Alex Miller finished 19th at 15:10, with Lady Indians Cici Bailey, Jennifer Barker and Savannah Rosenbarger 20th through 22nd at 16:16, 17:17 and 17:31. South Ripley Lady Raider Isabel Peak finished 23rd with her run at 18:15, followed by Lady Indians Abby Fenicia and Elizabeth Sutherlin 24th and 25th at 18:22 and 19:51. Despite JCD’s crossing the finish line with six girls before Batesville’s fourth crossed.

Girls team results
1. Batesville 28
2. Jac-Cen-Del 29
3. Milan 85
* South Ripley Inc

Boys race finishes
A smooth running Jac-Cen-Del Eagle eighth grader, Adrian Peetz, split the wind to capture the first place finish among the boys Ripley County MS XC race with his time of 11:20. Batesville runners Dillon Murray and Adam Moster swiftly ran to second and third place finishes at 11:23 an 11:26. JCD Eagle runners Kobe Darnold and TJ Menchhofer ran to fourth and fifth place finishes at 11:27 and 11:30 respectively. Batesville’s Mason Barker at 11:36 took sixth, while Eagle Damon Hughes finished in seventh at 11:40. Bulldog Josh Myers finished eighth with his time of 11:43; however, JCD wrapped up the boys team victory with Eagle Justyn Ohlmansiek’s ninth place finish at 12:01 for a fifth JCD runner crossing before the fifth Bulldog runner.

Only narrowly so, as Milan captured their first finishing spot with the 10th place finish of Ethan Honnert at 12:02 followed by Batesville’s Tyler Kuntz at 12:03 for 11th place. Finishing 12th, Batesville’s Charlie Layman crossed the line at 12:04. Jacob Elliott broke the ice for the South Ripley Raider’s with his 13th place finish at 12:10. Milan Indian Talon Goebel finished 14th at 12:28. Finishing 15th was Batesville’s JJ Kuisel at 2:53. Miles McAdams completed his run at 16th with a time of 13:05. Milan Indians Noah Haessig and Shawn Tharp took 17th and 18th with running times of 13:07 and 13:08.

Finishing 19th through 23rd were Eagle Christian Comer at 13:09, Raider Nick Zigan at 13:10, Indian Isaac Rosenbarger at 13:11 with SR Raiders Jay Cornett and Chase Thomas at 13:38 and 13:57 respectively. Rounding out the boys’ race individual finishes 24th through 28th were Milan Indian Cameron Hinkle at 14:29, SR Raider Dalton Downey at 15:17, Milan Indian Tyler Ellinghausen at 16:18 with South Ripley Raiders Jacob Jines and Joseph Cairns at 16:28 and 20:20.

Boys team results
1. Jac-Cen-Del 26
2. Batesville 30
3. Milan 80
4. South Ripley 103

Pick up this week's edition of the Osgood Journal for the stories below and more local news. Subscribe by clicking the subscribe link or call 812-689-6364.

• Annual Versailles Pumpkin Show Walk / Run (page 5)
• High school soccer sectional dates (page 6)
• Middle school cross country meet photos (page 6)

Your Ad HereGilpins Monuments
Your Ad HereNapoleon State Bank
Ripley Publishing Company, Inc.
115 S. Washington Street
P.O. Box 158
Versailles, IN 47042

Phone: 812-689-6364
Fax: 812-689-6508

© 2014 Ripley Publishing Company, Inc. | All Rights Reserved | Site Designed and Maintained by Maria Sieverding | Email:
Southeastern Indiana REMC