Dearborn County HospitalMainsource Bank Free CheckingSubscribe today
The Versailles Republican

Headline News | Sports | Obituaries | Coming Events | Classifieds | Public Notices | Osgood Journal
Send us your school news!Ripley Publishing Company on FacebookIn the print edition:

• JayC Food Store • CVS Pharmacy
• Dollar General

• CLICK HERE for info on articles in the newspaper.
• CLICK HERE to view 2016 Pumpkin Show photos
Ripley Publishing Company, Inc.

Home | Place Classified | Contact | Where to Buy | Archive | About
December 22, 2016 • Sports
Tom Tepe Autocenter
Tom Tepe Autocenter
Friendship State Bank Whitewater Motors King's Daughters' Health
Call 812-689-6364 to place your ad here.Send us your special moments information

Pick up a copy of the newspaper at your local newsstand!

Where to buy


Jac-Cen-Del Eagle Kurt Comer named to 2017 Silver Anniversary Team

Gary Franklin

Eighteen men, including Kurt Comer of Jac-Cen-Del, have been named to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 2017 Silver Anniversary Team, based on outstanding accomplishments as a senior basketball player 25 years ago. The team includes 13 members of the 1992 Indiana All-Star squad. Five other all-state players are included to recognize the top of Indiana’s high school class of 1992.

Pictured is one of the most respected basketball players to come from Ripley County is Jac-Cen-Del Eagle Kurt Comer, son of Glenn and Sandy Comer. He is captured soaring for the score, as they battled the Connersville Spartans some 25 years ago where he led the Eagles to an 80-70 victory while scoring 41 points during the Greensburg hosted Sectional. He holds the Greensburg Sectional top scorer record with 99 points scored. Today, Kurt is recognized as an Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Silver Anniversary Team member. He is also one of five players being inducted into the Ripley County Basketball Hall of Fame at the 2017 annual Ripley County Basketball Tournament held at South Ripley High School.

The 1992 Indiana All-Stars include Mr. Basketball Charles Macon of Michigan City Elston, as well as Jermaine Ball, Craig Brunes, Kurt Comer, Matt Delinger, Brian Gilpin, Richie Hammel, Steve Hart, Mark Lueking, Walter McCarty, Jason McKenzie, Scott Shepherd, and Billy Wright from 1992 state champion Richmond. The remaining five, named to various all-state teams are Mike Brooks, Alan Bush, Joe Estes, Chris Miskel and Brandt Schuckman.

A two-time Ohio Valley Conference MVP, Comer was Ripley County Tournament MVP and an all-sectional pick. He attended Eastern Illinois University where he played two years before his career was cut short due to injury. Since 1999, he has been owner of Comer Buildings in Greensburg. Married with four children, Comer lives in Greensburg. Coach Bradshaw commented, “Glad to see this great honor bestowed upon Kurt. In his playing days at Jac-Cen-Del, many fans enjoyed watching his great leadership and unselfish play. I am so honored to have coached Kurt and congratulations on this great accomplishment.”

All Men’s Silver Anniversary Team members will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s Annual Men’s Banquet on Wednesday, March 22, 2017. A midday reception, free and open to the public, will be held at the Hall of Fame museum in New Castle. The evening banquet will take place at the Primo Banquet Hall, which is located on the south side of Indianapolis. Reservation forms will be made available in early 2017 or tickets can be reserved now through the Hall’s website at

Read more about the Ripley County Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2017 on page 5 of The Versailles Republican. Pick up a copy at your local newsstand.

Napoleon State BankRipley Publishing Company Inc
Gilpins MomumentsRipley Publishing Company Inc
Ripley Publishing Company, Inc.
115 S. Washington Street, P.O. Box 158
Versailles, IN 47042

Phone: 812-689-6364 • Fax: 812-689-6508

Home | Contact | Where to Buy | Archive | About

© 2016 Ripley Publishing Company, Inc. | All Rights Reserved | Site designed and maintained by Maria Sieverding | Email: