Dearborn County HospitalSubscribe today
The Versailles Republican

Headline News | Sports | Obituaries | Coming Events | Classifieds | Public Notices | Osgood Journal
Send us your school news!Ripley Publishing Company on FacebookIn the print edition:
• JayC Food Store • CVS Pharmacy
• Redplum coupons • Dollar General
• Furniture Liquidators

CLICK HERE for a short list of articles
CLICK HERE to view Polar Plunge photos
Ripley Publishing Company, Inc.

Home | Place Classified | Contact | Where to Buy | Archive | About
March 23, 2017 • Sports
Tom Tepe Autocenter
Tom Tepe Autocenter
Friendship State Bank Whitewater Motors King's Daughters' Health
Call 812-689-6364 to place your ad here.Send us your special moments information
Pick up a copy of the newspaper at your local newsstand!

Where to buy


Raider fans celebrate 2016-17 winter sports

Gary Franklin

On Wednesday evening, March 15, the South Ripley Raiders Booster Club served up a Rolling Pin Catering delivered meal to get their SRHS Raiders Winter Sports Awards Banquet and Athlete Awards Program underway at 6:30 p.m. in the cafetorium. Following the meal, a cordial welcome was extended to players, parents and guests by SR Athletic Director Jeff Gorrell on behalf of the SRHS athletic department and staff, while acknowledging many who had helped to keep South Ripley Raiders High School sports an exciting, entertaining and positive winter sporting season for all.

Raiders HS Swim Team
Coaches: David and Lisa Baugh
Recognition of the 2016-17 Raiders Swim Team and awards presentation was led by Coach David Baugh, who spoke of what his small number of dedicated Class 2A swimmers were able to accomplish 116 wins this season.
The SRHS Raiders Co-ed Swim Team of 2016-17 included two boy swim members: Andreu Puricelli, recognized as Most Valuable Swimmer for boys, and Alvaro Andreu, presented with the Most Improved Male Swimmer Award.
The SR Lady Raiders Swim Team comprised a host of members to include Danielle Baugh, Michaela Diem, McKenna Bradley, Emma Stuehrenberg, Kiersten Clark, Madelyn Smith, Madison Smith, Breanna Sides, Brooke Sides, Deanna Voris, Emma Wood, Rachel Wood, Leah Hill, Sophie Guenther, and Taylor Benning.

Lady Raiders Swim Awards
Most Improved:
Emma Stuehrenberg
Mental Attitude:
Leah Hill
Most Valuable Swimmer:
Danielle Baugh
Scholastic Academic:
Sophia Guenther @ 4.0
Danielle Baugh @ 3.99
It was also announced that senior Danielle Baugh, daughter of Coaches David and Lisa Baugh, had made a committment to the Vincennes Purple Aces Swim Team to further her education, while swimming as a member of their team.

Raiders Cheer Squad
Coach Janna Lloyd
The 2016-17 SRHS Raiders Cheerleader Squad introductions and awards presentation was led by Coach Janna Lloyd, who spoke of what her first year in the lead had entailed, with positive results from leading as well as learning.

JV Cheer Squad:
The cheer squad includes Graci Heidt, Lilli Hilton, Autumn Schmaltz, Haley Shadday, and Kayleigh Weddle.
Awards presented:
Most Improved:
Kayey Weddle
Mental Attitude:
Haley Shadday
Scholastic Academic:
Lilli Hilton @ 4.0

Varsity Cheer Squad:
The cheer squad includes Kylie Werner, Haley Jansen, Danielle Baugh, Emma Wilhoit, Jenna Moore, Mariah Gentile, Jessica Vogel, Jill Scott, and Abby McCarty
Awards presented:
Most Improved:
Abby McCarty
Mental Attitude:
Jessica Vogel
Senior Academic:
Lilli Hilton @ 3.99

Basketball - Raider Boys C Team
Coach Curtis Stephen
Recognition of the 2016-17 Raider freshman or “C” team season players.
C Team:
Team members include Japeet Bhagtana Singh, Trent Burford, Dylan Ragan, and Peyton Owens.
C Team Awards:
Most Improved:
Peyton Owens
Mental Attitude:
Japjeet Bhagtana

Basketball - Raider Boys JV Team
Coach Brad Samples
Recognition of the 2016-17 Raider JV Team season player introductions, results and award presentation were led by Coach Brad Samples.
JV Team:
Team members include Cory Welch, Sam Evans, Kendall Stephen, Bryer Franklin, Peyton Owens, Sam Flood, Aaron Greiwe, Jon Adkins. Kaleb Rinear Connor McCarty, and Eric Vickers.
JV Team Awards:
Most Improved:
Eric Vickers
Mental Attitude:
Kaleb Rinear
Scholastic Academic:
Jon Adkins @ 3.96

Basketball - Raider Varsity Boys
Coach Travis Wrightsman
Recognition of the 2016-17 Raider Varsity Boys Basketball Team and award presentations was made by Head Coach Travis Wrightsman.
Varsity Raiders:
Team members include seniors; Cory Walker, Tyler Cole and Derek Turner; juniors – Avery Halcomb, Dillan McQueen, Zach Pickett, Luke Welch, Cory Welch, and Jacob Moore.
Varsity Boys Awards:
Co-ORVC Champs
Sectional 45 Champs
Most Improved:
Zach Pickett
Mental Attitude:
Derek Turner
Senior Academic:
Derek Turner @ 3.78
Rebounding Award:
Avery Halcomb
Assists Award:
Cory Walker
Free Throw % Award:
Cory Walker
Best Defense Award:
Cory Walker
Ripley Publishing Co., Inc. 36th Annual
Wm. “Tiny” Hunt
Memorial Senior Boys Basketball

Excellence Award:
#5 5'11" Cory Walker

Lady Raider JV Team
Coach Andrew Bayne
Asst. Coach – Shawn Halcomb
Recognition of the 2016-17 Lady Raider JV Team presentation was led by Coach Andrew Bayne.
ORVC JV Girls Champs

Lady Raider JV:
Team members include Haley Bishop, Cady Garcia, Autumn Schmaltz, Abby McCarty, Abby Brinson, Lindsey Meyer, Cierra Copeland, Cennagen Snelling, and Taylor Brison.
JV Team Awards:
Most Improved:
Cady Garcia
Mental Attitude:
Haley Bishop
Co-Scholasatic Academic:
Cady Garcia @ 4.00
Abby McCarty @ 4.00

Lady Raider Varsity
Coach Brian Samples
100+ Career Wins
Asst. Coach Bob Meyer

ORVC Champs
Sectional Champs

Recognition of the 2016-17 Raiders Varsity Boys Basketball Team and award presentations were made by Coach Travis Wrightsman.

Varsity Lady Raiders:
Team members include seniors – Hannah Schwarte and Mackenzie Black; juniors – Kiley Sparks, Julia Rea, Mariah Gentile, Toria Tucker, Cameo Hamm, and Jill Scott; sophomores – Elexah Roepke, and Morgan Peetz
Lady Raiders
Most Improved:
Kiley Sparks
Mental Attitude:
Mariah Gentile
Senior Academic:
Mackenzie Black @ 3.98
Rebounding Award:
Elexah Roepke
Assists Award:
Morgan Peetz
Free Throw % Award:
Julia Rea
Toria Tucker
Best Defense Award:
Julia Rea

High School Raiders

Boys – Kenny Sheets
Girls – Trace Tucker

SR Middle School
Winter Sports Awards:
7th Grade Boys Basketball
Coach BJ Sieverding
Most Improved:
Luke Cranfill
Mental Attitude:
Ben Miller
Scholastic Academic:
Clinton Patrick @ 4.00
Luke Cranfill @ 4.00

8th Grade Boys Basketball

Coach Jeff Greiwe
Most Improved:

Jacob Jines
Mental Attitude:
Colby Bush
Scholastic Academic:
Brady Linkel @ 4.00

7th Grade Cheerleader
Most Improved:
Alexa Heidt
Mental Attitude:
Grace Grossman
Scholastic Academic:
Emily Campbell @ 4.00
Kaybree Christner @ 4.00

8th Grade Cheerleader

Most Improved:
Lydia Koger
Mental Attitude:
Kyla Jeffries
Scholastic Academic:
Lydia Koger @ 4.00

7th Grade Girls Basketball
Most Improved:
Gracie Gunter
Mental Attitude:
Mady Tompkins
Scholastic Academic:
Grace Einhaus @ 4.00
Emily Campbell @ 4.00

8th Grade Girls Basketball
Most Improved:
Hailey Smith
Mental Attitude:
Scarlett Marker
Scholastic Academic:
Hailey Gorrell @ 4.00
LJ McQueen @ 4.00

Napoleon State BankRipley Publishing Company Inc
Gilpins MomumentsRipley Publishing Company Inc
Ripley Publishing Company, Inc.
115 S. Washington Street, P.O. Box 158
Versailles, IN 47042

Phone: 812-689-6364 • Fax: 812-689-6508

Home | Contact | Where to Buy | Archive | About

© 2017 Ripley Publishing Company, Inc. | All Rights Reserved | Site designed and maintained by Maria Sieverding | Email: