Dearborn County HospitalSubscribe today
Osgood Journal

Headline News
| Sports | Obituaries | Classifieds | Public Notices | The Versailles Republican
Send us your school news!Ripley Publishing Company on FacebookIn the print edition:

• Versailles IGA

CLICK HERE for a short list of articles

CLICK HERE to view Polar Plunge photos
Ripley Publishing Company, Inc.

Home | Place Classified | Contact | Where to Buy | Archive | About
April 11, 2017 • Sports
Tom Tepe Autocenter
Tom Tepe Autocenter
Friendship State Bank Whitewater Motors King's Daughters' Health
Call 812-689-6364 to place your ad here.Send us your special moments information
Pick up a copy of the newspaper at your local newsstand.

Where to buy


2017 Ripley County Basketball Hall of Fame Class Officially Inducted

Gary Franklin

Guest speaker Marty Layden welcomed all in attendance for the annually held Ripley County Basketball Hall of Fame Official Induction Banquet and Program for the Induction Class of 2017 which was held at South Ripley High School on Saturday evening, April 8. Prior to the meal a reception hour was held, which was sponsored by Ripley Publishing Company, Inc. President Gene Demaree.

Newest members of Ripley County Basketball Hall of Fame

Proudly pictured from left are the newest members of the Ripley County Basketball Hall of Fame: 1954 Milan Indian Roger "Rog" Schroeder, 1990 South Ripley Raider Robert "Bob" Stratton, 1990 Batesville Lady Bulldog Angela (Bohman) Dulin, 1992 Jac-Cen-Del Eagle Kurt Comer and accepting on behalf of 1961 Sunman Tiger, Raymond Schoettelkotte (deceased) son Chris.

Marty Layden's call to order included a welcome to the honored inductees and their guests, prior to a delicious buffet style meal, catered by the Rolling Pin Bakery of Versailles. Following the meal and socialization, Speaker Layden called the official program to order for the presentation of a plaques and speeches by the inductees, several who traveled here for the event The five new 2017 RCBHF Inductee Class members, in the order they were called to the podium to speak included:

Class of 1990
Batesville Lady Bulldog,
Angela (Bohman) Dulin
Angie was a a four year varsity Lady Bulldog starter under Coach Art Brebberman. Angie's team played to a prestigious 56-8 record. She currently resides in Round Rock, Texas with husband Tony and their two children; 11-year-old Kennedy and 9-year-old Peyton.

Class of 1992
Jac-Cen-Del Eagle,
Kurt Comer
Kurt excelled while being an unselfish basketball player under the leadership of Coach David Bradshaw, with growing point production and basketball savy over his three years on the Eagle varsity. He has proudly been recognized as the first male JCD player to be selected as a 1992 Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame All-Star team member. Kurt currently resides in Greensburg, Indiana with wife Heather and their four children Drew, Collin,
Jennie, and Mya.

Class of 1961
Sunman Tiger,
Raymond Schoettelkotte
Raymond (deceased) was proudly represented on stage by his son Chris. As a Tiger Raymond scored 831 points and holds the second highest career scoring record for the school. He and wife Pamela raised three boys Jeff, Chris and Todd.

Class of 1954
Milan Indian,
Roger "Rog" Schroeder
Roger was one of seven seniors on the 1954 State Champion team. As a coach, in 2008 he was inducted into the John Marshall Hall of Fame and in 2015 the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame. He and his wife Sue of 58 years make their home in Indianapolis, Indiana, where they are the parents of three children: Vickie, Julie and Kent.

Class of 1981
South Ripley Raider,
Robert "Bob" Stratton
Bob, a pilot and wife Jody of 30 years, currently reside in Madeira Beach, Florida. Bob continues to hold the SRHS #1 rebounding record with 582 and is currently at 8th all time in career scoring at 846.

Anyone who is interested in nominating a former star Ripley Co. basketball player or coach to the RCBHF (male or female) for consideration and possible induction into the organization can contact one of the following board members for a nomination form. President Ray Baurley, Vice President Bill Vankirk, Secretary Ron Raver, Treasurer Randy Young, members Tom Cook, Connie Dickman, Paul C. Hardy, Donna Hoeing, Eugene Freyer, Gerald (Gary) Franklin, Nick Rohlfing, Kenny Sheets, Larry Sutherlin and Attorney Doug Wilson.

Napoleon State BankRipley Publishing Company Inc
Gilpins MomumentsRipley Publishing Company Inc
Ripley Publishing Company, Inc.
115 S. Washington Street, P.O. Box 158
Versailles, IN 47042

Phone: 812-689-6364 • Fax: 812-689-6508

Home | Contact | Where to Buy | Archive | About

© 2017 Ripley Publishing Company, Inc. | All Rights Reserved | Site designed and maintained by Maria Sieverding | Email: