Dearborn County HospitalMainsource BankSubscribe today
The Versailles Republican

Headline News | Sports | Obituaries | Coming Events | Classifieds | Public Notices | Osgood Journal
Send us your school news!Ripley Publishing Company on FacebookIn the print edition:
• JayC Food Stores • CVS Pharmacy
• Redplum coupons • Dollar General
• Furniture Liquidators

CLICK HERE for info on articles in the newspaper.

Ripley Publishing Company, Inc.

Home | Place Classified | Contact | Where to Buy | Archive | About
April 28, 2016 • Headline News
Tom Tepe Autocenter
Tom Tepe Autocenter
Friendship State Bank Whitewater Motors King's Daughters' Health
Call 812-689-6364 to place your ad here.Send us your special moments information

Pick up a copy of the newspaper at your local newsstand!

Where to buy


Moorhead named Administrator of the Year
All SR students to have digital devices

There was good news to report at the South Ripley Community School Corporation meeting April 18. Becky Turner, board member, congratulated South Ripley Superintendent Rob Moorhead for being named Administrator of the Year by the Indiana High School Basketball Coaches Association. Moorhead is in his fourth year as superintendent. His roots run deep at South Ripley with his father William “Gus” Moorhead serving for 40 years in various positions including 23 as principal. His mother, Mary Margaret, was a teacher for 38 years and was loved by students and staff. Rob Moorhead is a 1983 South Ripley graduate.

Rob Moorhead and familySUBMITTED PHOTO
Supt. Rob Moorhead with his family, wife Lisa and sons Trent and Brad at the April 22 award dinner.

Prior to his administrative role at South Ripley, Rob Moorhead spent 25 years at South Dearborn Community School Corp. He was the high school principal, but had also coached varsity basketball for several years. He was the IBCA recipient for district 3, which is made up of schools in southern Indiana. Mel Siefert of Plainfield schools (formerly of Batesville schools) and Ed Gilliland of La Porte, were honored at the IBCS spring clinic at Lawrence North High School on April 22. Moorhead’s family attended, including wife Lisa and sons Trent and Brad, both who are following their parent’s footsteps into education careers. Moorhead has supported the school and area basketball by also broadcasting local games for ETC and WSCH radio. The board meeting got underway with board members hearing recommendations from Moorhead for a variety of changes, which were all met with unanimous approval.

At the start of the 2016-17 school year, all South Ripley students will have a digital device. The board approved the expansion of the 1:1 Technology Initiative for grades K-2 that includes Apple digital devices, along with the distribution plan and a four-year cost. This was part of a three year roll-out plan for all students to have electronic devices. Scott Richie with Five Star Technology, was at the meeting with the recommended devices for members to review. A four-year lease agreement with Providence Capital Network for the 1:1 devices for grades K-2 was approved.

The board took action on several personnel items including employing Heather Reichert to fill the SRHS Alternative School Director/English teaching position, which is a full time position. Alyssa Moorman was approved to fill the full time position of business teacher at the high school. Kris Lafary, elementary teacher will now be the elementary music teacher. Summer school teachers for K-3 were approved as follows: Tammy Halcomb, Caroline Cumberworth, Kris Lafary and Lisa Gilpin. This is for 4.5 hours per day. Lynn Cumberworth was approved to provide SRHS summer school help on Wednesdays from June 8 through July 27. She will also work 4.5 hours per day. The positions are funded by an IDOE grant. Brian Samples was approved to fill the SRHS head girls basketball coach position, including summer basketball. Jonathan Raab was hired to fill a temporary vacancy created by the request of the FMLA leave of Jeff Huss. The FMLA leaves for Angela Ochs and Ellen Gentry were both approved. The board approved the following summer custodial positions be filled by Troy Mohr, Tina Clift, Andrew Bayne, Jane Feldhaus, Patricia Kappas, Patty Harrell, Max Howard, and Jeff Huss – pending his release from FMLA leave. Mark Guard was approved to fill the summer computer maintenance position. The retirement notice from Donna McCombs, teacher’s aide, was accepted. Jeannette Vanosdol retired from a cafeteria position at the elementary school. Both were thanked for their service. Pat Holland, high school ag teacher retired with many attending a banquet honoring his many years of service. He too was thanked by the board and best wishes extended for improving health. The resignations of Kelly King, student council sponsor, and Ellen Gentry, junior varsity volleyball, were accepted. Amy Strunk resigned from the position of elementary teacher.

Field Trips
Kelly Sparks was given permission for her Journalism class to attend the Scholastic Journalism Convention held at Columbia University. The seventh grade was granted approval to attend the Cincinnati Reds Stadium and Hall of Fame in Cincinnati, OH. FFA members were approved to attend an overnight field trip to the Indiana FFA Convention in West Lafayette.

South Ripley’s statement regarding House Enrolled Act 1381 about transfer student acceptance for 2016-2017 was accepted unanimously.
The school will be donating a basketball goal and backboard that is obsolete to the Town of Versailles. A list of obsolete school equipment will also be put on public auction through the Southeastern Career Center on June 11. A grant in the amount of $6,597 from the Indiana Department of Education was reported. This will support the Indiana Literacy Early Intervention program at the elementary school. South Ripley has a DAR Essay Winner, Jon Adkins, an eighth grader. Principal Destiny Rutzel said she was proud of the third place winner who wrote on the Stamp Act. He will be honored at an awards luncheon.

South Ripley is an “A” rated school district with the junior high being a Four-Star school. Superintendent Moorhead and the board are proud of the ratings and strive to make education better than ever. The next regular meeting of the school board will be May 16 at 6:30 p.m. at the administration building.

-- Information was compiled from the unofficial minutes by Wanda Burnett.

Local Bulletin Board

Deadline: April 30, 2016
Tarter-Crum trusts applications accepted
Applications for donations from the Frank Tarter Community Trust and the Ray Herman and Louise Herman Crum Community Trust may be submitted by tax exempt organizations from the Osgood and the surrounding area. Due to IRS regulations, only non-profit organizations are eligible to receive funds from the trust. For more details read the front page of the Osgood Journal dated April 12.

Deadline: May 3
Cross Plains Community grant requests
The Cross Plains Community Granting Committee will meet Thursday, May 5 at 6 p.m. at the Cross Plains Methodist Church to review grant requests. The meeting is open to the public. Any non profit organization including cemeteries within the Cross Plains zip code can request a grant from the Cross Plains Community Granting Fund, which is an endowment fund with the Ripley Co. Community Foundation. See more information on the front page of the Osgood Journal dated April 12.

Napoleon State BankRipley Publishing Company Inc
Gilpins MomumentsRipley Publishing Company Inc
Ripley Publishing Company, Inc.
115 S. Washington Street, P.O. Box 158
Versailles, IN 47042

Phone: 812-689-6364 • Fax: 812-689-6508

Home | Place Classified | Contact | Where to Buy | Archive | About

© 2016 Ripley Publishing Company, Inc. | All Rights Reserved | Site designed and maintained by Maria Sieverding | Email: