SR board names officers for 2007

Wanda English Burnett - Editor

New board member Tim Taylor, along with re-elected board members Robert Garcia, Jim Miller and Ralph Miller, was given the oath of office by Attorney Merritt Alcorn at the South Ripley Community School Corporation Board of School Trustees meeting held January 15. Other members in attendance included Gil Landwehr, Randy McIntosh and Jim Samples.

Organization of the board for the new year included election of 2007 officers. The voting began with a motion by Robert Garcia to close nominations and approve Jim Miller president by acclamation. Jim Miller then made the same motion to elect Ralph Miller vice-president. Both motions carried with a 7-0 vote. Robert Garcia was elected secretary. Randy McIntosh and Ralph Miller were both voted to serve on the three-person Administrative/Non-Certified Salary and Benefits committee. There was a tie for the third position. Jim Miller removed his name leaving Tim Taylor to serve in that slot.

The voting continued with Robert Garcia and Randy McIntosh named members of the Athletic Council; Gil Landwehr, legislative representative; Randy McIntosh, Jim Miller and Tim Taylor will serve on the Negotiating Committee. The full board will serve as the Board of Finance as per the recommendation of Superintendent Ted Ahaus.

Board meetings will be held the third Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Administration Office.
Lana Miller was appointed corporation treasurer with Karen Sieverding as deputy treasurer.
The superintendent was given unanimous approval for his request to approve year-end balance of appropriations, expenditures, investments, encumbrances, and transfers as they were presented.
As per the recommendation of the Administrative/Non-Certified Salary and Benefit committee, administrative employees will receive a 2.5% raise retroactive for the 2006-2007 contract year, with three minor language changes made to the administrative addendum. The base salary of the Business Manager/Treasurer increased $2,846. It was noted that this was an attempt to get the salary for the position closer to the state averages for schools the same size as South Ripley. A 2.5% raise for non-certified personnel retroactive to July 1, 2006, was recommended. Benefit language was approved to allow the accumulation of sick/personal days up to the maximum - plus the yearly leave entitlement. Substitute teachers will now get $55 per day, an increase of $10 per day. It was recommended that Janet Myers receive the stipend for South Ripley Computer Coordinator for Student Data for the 2006-2007 school year.

Under personnel:
• The board approved the acceptance of the retirement of Elementary Extra-Curricular Treasurer Connie Mann effective May 31, 2007. Supt. Ahaus, along with the board thanked Mann for her 34 years of service to the school.

• Motion was made and approved to accept the resignation of Mark Downard as Boy’s Golf Coach for the 2006-2007 school year.

• Nicholas Paulin’s resignation as Junior High Girl’s Track Coach for the 2006-2007 school year was accepted.

• The recommendation to terminate Sally Seaser as part time cafeteria help was approved.

• A family medical leave was approved for Assistant Superintendent Dennis Stockdale from January 16, 2007 until February 27, 2007 for surgery.

Approval was given for the FFA to attend the National Farm Machinery Show on February 15 in Louisville, Ky. The 2007-2008 calendar was accepted as presented by Superintendent Ahaus. ISTEP+ scores were shared with the group along with three years prior data.

Although no minutes were available from the work session, it was noted that one would follow the regular meeting regarding a possible building/renovation project. Another work session was scheduled for January 23.

Under information items, Supt. Ahaus shared a letter from the Jac-Cen-Del Community School Corporation stating that they do not want to pursue consolidation with South Ripley in the immediate future.




© Copyright 2003 Ripley Publishing Co.. Inc. | Site Design by Eclectic Video