South Ripley principal resigns

Wanda English Burnett, Editor

South Ripley High School Principal Bill Snyder’s resignation was accepted at the regular meeting of the South Ripley School Board of Trustees Monday evening. The resignation will be effective June 30, 2007. Randy McIntosh, board member, thanked Snyder for his service to South Ripley.

Snyder said he had thoroughly enjoyed his time at South Ripley. He served as assistant principal for four years and the past seven as principal. He has accepted a position at Lawrenceburg High School as the principal.

Other personnel changes include:
• The retirement of Jerrold Wilson as elementary teacher, effective May 31.

• The employment of Ashlee Miller as an elementary teacher was recommended. The effective date would be August 13. She would fill the position left vacant by Kathy Deaton, who will not be returning to work after a maternity leave. Miller is currently filling the position.

• Superintendent Ted Ahaus recommended the acceptance of the resignation of Willie Vinup Jr. as the elementary custodian. This will be effective retroactively from March 19, 2007.

• Wendy Meyer will transfer from the elementary secretary position to elementary treasurer effective July 1.

• Tammy Hartman will move from the high school secretary position to high school treasurer effective July 1.

• High School secretary Janet Myers will transfer to Student Data Coordinator effective July 1.

• A family medical leave was recommended for Pauline Doan from April 25 to June 6, 2007.

• The approval of elementary summer custodial temporary employees was recommended as submitted by Charlie Thomas, elementary maintenance supervisor.

• Mark Guard was recommended to clean and update computers at the elementary school.

High school teacher Wanda Ploeger was recognized for her exemplary work in the Project Lead The Way pre-engineering program by Assistant Superintendent Dennis Stockdale. Present were eighth grade student PLTW team members: Kelly Borter, Whitney Hillstrand, Stephen Sieverding, and Stephanie Scroggins. Those not present, but on the team include: Brittany Browning, Tim Burcham, Cody Geisler, and Tanner Tucker.

The Non-Certified Salary and Benefit Committee made recommendations regarding office positions at both schools. The three existing main office positions at the elementary office would be: receptionist, secretary and treasurer. The three office positions at the high school would be secretary, treasurer, and student data coordinator. Job descriptions for the positions, along with the bookstore manager, were approved. Entry and experience level pay rates were also submitted.

In other business the recommendation of a bus bid from Kerlin Bus Sales for a 2008 72-passenger special education bus came in at $75,639. It was noted that due to the longer bus life and the fuel mileage issues with the Mercedes engine, it was felt this bid was the most responsible.

A field trip for Kelly Sparks’ class to attend the 84th Annual Scholastic Journalism Convention at Columbia University in New York was approved.

The request to take the band to the Cincinnati Reds game at the Great American Ballpark in Cincinnati was also approved.

The board heard from Business Manager Lana Miller that the State is changing the chart of accounts to more closely comply with the requirements of the US Department of Education. She noted that this means that fund, receipt and expenditures numbers will be changing and the 2008 budget must be completed with the new numbers. That report is due to be completed this summer.
All members of the board with the exception of Jim Samples were present for the meeting held Monday, April 16 at the central office.