Two South Ripley teachers selected as Community Teacher of the Year

South Ripley teachers, Jenna Smith and Karen Hafft were each honored as Community Teacher of the Year by the Aurora and Madison Wal-Mart stores. The surprise presentation took place at a school assembly on May 8 on Honor Your Teacher Day. Managers from both the Madison and Aurora Wal-Marts commented on the unlikelihood of teachers from one school being selected to receive awards from two stores.

Jenna Smith, special education teacher, was nominated by her students and selected as the Teacher of the Year by the Aurora Wal-Mart and Karen Hafft, English teacher, received the same honor from students who nominated her at the Madison Wal-Mart.

Ryan Curtis, Aurora store manager, and Greg Kynion, Madison Wal-Mart store manager, each presented South Ripley High School a check for $1000. Both Hafft and Smith were presented with a Polo shirt, a planter, a $100 gift card and a special certificate stating that they had been named Teacher of the Year.

Both teachers will now be eligible to go on to the next level where they could become the Indiana Teacher of the Year.

Representatives from both the Aurora and Madison Wal-Marts came to South Ripley High School to honor Karen Hafft and Jenna Smith who had both been selected as Community Teacher of the Year. Pictured from left are: Janet Youngblood, Laura Jester and Manager Greg Kynion, all representatives of the Madison Wal-Mart, Karen Hafft, Bill Snyder - South Ripley principal, Rebecca Maerkl - Aurora Wal-Mart, Jenna Smith, Aurora Manager Ryan Curtis and Melodie Tibbits, Aurora Wal-Mart.