Sunman receives $498,750 grant

Cathy May, Contributing Writer

The Town of Sunman finally received approval for a Community Development Block Grant from the Indiana Office of Rural Affairs in the amount of $498,750 after three tries.

The money will be used to purchase the building they are now using as a town hall from the Franklin County National Bank. They are presently leasing the building. Part of the money will be used to make the building ADA compliant. The grant was matched by a $50,000 grant from the Rising Sun Regional Foundation.

At the May 31 Sunman Town Board meeting Tony Hilbert, who owns property on the south side of the Sunman Park, offered it for sale to the town. Council approved getting two appraisals for the one and a half acre property.

Marshal Bill Dramann stated quad runners are in violation when they are ridden on the railroad tracks and on town streets. The Chevrolet police car was sold to Ted Langefield for $700.00. Ordinance 2007-1 was approved. It is for the reserve police officer program. More direction is needed for the remaining code.

Council went over the Mainstreet Grant Program and is ready to proceed. Mike Wolffe was appointed to the program board.

Utility Superintendent Carl Bruns reported the well fields need to be more secure. He said he will get two fencing estimates.

Trees Mobile Home Park had a major water leak. A new second meter is needed that could cost $450. The council suggested that Bruns look into replacing the meter generator first.

All three town board members were present, Wayne Jenner, John Campbell and Mike Wolffe. Also present to advise the board were town Attorney Jack Kellerman and Clerk-Treasurer Kris Schneider. The next regular meeting of the Sunman Town Board will be June 21 at 6:30 p.m. at the Sunman Town Hall.

Lt. Governor Becky Skillman, center, presents the Town of Sunman with a $498,750 Community Focus Fund Grant during an awards ceremony on May 31 in the Indiana State House. The grant will be used for a community building. Pictured with Lt. Skillman are: Dick Weigel, engineer HWC, Susan Craig, SIRPC, Mike Wolffe, Council Member, Skillman, Wayne Jenner, Council president, Kris Schneider, Sunman clerk-treasurer and Cleo Duncan, state representative.