Osgood Journal Sports
June 19, 2007

Jac-Cen-Del High School spring athletes honored

Gary Franklin - Sports Editor
The JCD High School Eagle spring sport athletes were honored at JCDHS gym on Tuesday evening, June 11. Eagle Athletic Director, Mark Meyer, was often welcomed back as different speakers took the podium. Meyer underwent serious surgical procedures during this past season and seems to be on the mend. All were happy to see his progress and return, with well wishes for continued progress.
Eagle Awards
Awards were presented to the following. Leslie Brancamp, Gerald Hardesty, Justin Huff, Jaime Lunsford, Spencer Purdy, Alissa Stolze, Andrew Wagner, Eric Wirth, David Busch, Kara Harlemert, Talena Huff, Renee Meister, Regina Ricke, Kellen Stolze, Jeremy Wagner, Kiersten Young, Emily Einhaus, Melissa Horan, Kaitlin Hughes, Allana Newhart, Abby Rohlfing, Blake Sutton, Valorie Wagner, Natasha Gregory, Janine Huff, Jessica Luers, Kaylin Ploeger, Tanaha Simon, Rachel Toops and Samantha White.
Those persons were on the Honor Roll all year and lettered in a varsity sport while maintaining their status academically.
Blanket Awards presented
Jac-CeDel Eagle Outstanding Athlete Awards were presented to senior girl - Abby Rohlfing, and senior boy - Andrew Wagner. The award is based on scholastic achievement, mental attitude, dedication and athletic ability.
JCD boys capture
'06-'07 ORVC
All Sports Trophy

The trophy wqs caaptured with the passing of the Rising Sun Shiners 57-56 after the golf season tallys were added in.
Lady Eagle Reserve Softball Team
Coach Lauren Lauber presented certificates to team members: Ciara Bonnlander, Melissa Horan, Tasha Krieg, Samantha White, Annalyse Fennelly, Carissa Simon, Danielle Wagner, Donah Stringer and Regina Ricke.
The Lady Eagle Reserve record was 5-7 for the season. The Mental Attitude Award and the Most Improved Award were presented to Annalyse Fennelly. Regina Ricke earned the Most Determined Award and Danielle Wagner captured the scholastic Award after carrying a GPA of 10.688.
Eagle Reserve Baseball
Coach Steve Narwold and the Eagle Reserve team's season ended at 6-4. Certificates were issued to Donald Comer, Brandon Hardesty, Zach Kappes, Coty Horn, Gerald Hardesty, Ryan Schuler, Austin Lord, Shane Adams, Trent Tucker, Jacob Gaither, Daniel Harlemert and Brandon Wilhoit.
Daniel Harlemert received the Mental Attitude Award. Shane Adams was awarded the Most Determined Award. Most Improved Award went to Austin Lord and Gerald hardesty captured the Scholastic Award with a 11.149 GPA.
JCD Eagle Boys' Golf
Coach Steve Gilland presented certificates to golfers Jacob Schoettmer and Ethan Hess. Varsity Letters were earned by Justin Huff, Josh Tunny, Isaac Wagner, Tyler Powers, Donald Lows, Ethan Harmeyer and Andrew Wagner. Their team season record was 16-23.
The Most Valuable Player Award was earned by Andrew Wagner. who also got the Captains Award an d Scholastic Award with a GPA of 11.50. Wagner was Valedictorian of theis years graduating class. Wagner was named to the All ORVC Conference Team and was a Regional Individual Qualifier.
Ethan Harmeyer captured the Most Determined Award and Donald Lows picked up the nod as the Most Improved Award recipient.
Eagle Girls' T&F Awards
Track and Field awards were presented to Alaina Wake, Renee Meister, Jodi Hardesty, Lauren Fennelly, Kayla Bradley, Kiersten Duerstock, and Elyssa Mulroy.
Varsity Letters were earned by Kaitlin Hughes, Kelley Wagner, Valorie Wagner, Samantha White, Jaime Lunsford, and Alissa Stolze.
Most Valuable Runner Award went to Valorie Wagner, along with the Most Points Scored Running Award, the Most Points Scored in Field Events, the Scholastic Awartd for a GPA of 11.143, as well as having been named to the All ORVC Conference T&F Team and earning a right to compete as a Regional Qualifier.
As the only senior on the team, Kaitlin Hughes received the Captains Award with Alissa Stolze earning the Most Determined Award.
Eagle Boys' T&F Awards
Certificates were presented to Matt Moorman, Brandon Wilhoit, Eric Wirth, Michael Short, Joe Rangel, Gerald Hardesty, Andrew Gayheart, Ethan Hess, Michael Luers, Ryan Panter, Josh Forbes, Jared Hellmich and Nick Willoughby. Varsity Letters were earned by Tucker Brown, Spencer Purdy, Coty Horn, Justin Stepelton, and Logan Gerwe.
Tucker Brown received the Most Valuable Runner Award, Senior Captains Award, Most Points Scored in Field Events Award and was a Regional Qualifier.
Joe Rangel earned the Most Determined Award. Logan Gerwe received the Most Points Running Award and Gerald Hardesty performed to win the Scholastic Award with a GPA of 11.143.
JCD Varsity Baseball Team
Coach David Bradshaw eagerly presented the details of his 2007 teams ventures and presented certificates to Gerald Hardesty, Ryan Schuler, Shane Adams, Brandon Wilhoit, Austin Lord and Daniel Harlemert. He continued with presentation of Varsity Letters to Tucker Brown, Matt Gehl, Zach Simon, Justin Huff, Blake Sutrton, Andrew Huff, Daniel Leonetti, Eric Horan, Coty Horn, Brandon Gehl and David Busch.
A special presentation was made by Coach Bradshaw of baseballs with the game/games of special events in the teams individual efforts over the season which was a presentation of a baseball for home runs/grand slams/ games won from the mound, etc., for each members specific accomplishment. These balls were presented to Tucker Brown, Justin Huff, Daniel Leonetti, David Busch, Eric Horan, Zach Simon, Brandon Gehl, Blake Sutton and Matt Gehl.
The Sectional #58 Champion JCD Eagles season record ended at 22-8 which included a win of the Morristown Invitational Tournament.
Tucker Brown was presented with the Most Valuable Player Award, Highest Batting Average Award and Pitching Award .
Senior Daniel Leonetti erned the Captains Award and shared the honor of Hustle Award with teammate Blake Sutton. David Busch 's performance earned him the RBI Award and his academic efforts captured the varsity teams Scholastic Award with a 11.0 GPA. Brown, Leonetti, Justn Huff and Brandon Gehl were named to the ORVC All-Conference team.
Lady Eagle Varsity Softball
The Lady Eagles, behind Coach Brian Samples, captured Sectional & Regional Championship titles and were a Class 1A State Final Four contending Team.
Coach Samples captured his 100th coaching career win while the Lady Eagles played to a overall season record of 17-8.
Certificates were given to Ciara Bonnlander, Donah Springer, Annalyse Fennelly, Danielle Wagner, Melissa Horn, Samantha White and Tasha Krieg. Varsity Letters were earned by Kara Harlemert, Abby Morehead, Carissa Simon, Kristen Hicks, Kaylin Ploeger, Valorie Wagner, Janine Huff, Regina Ricke, Kiersten Young, Abby Lauber and Abby Rohlfing.
Abby Lauber received the Most Valuable Player Award the Pitching Award, and shared the Captains Award with teammate Abby Rohlfing.
Kiersten Young was named the Hustle Award Winner and Valorie Wagner earned the Highest Batting Average Award and the Scholastic Award with a GPA of 11.149.
Janine Huff's hits earned her the RBI Award, while Kara Harlemert was named the Most Improved Award winner.
Kiersten Young and Abby Lauber were named to the ORVC All-Conference Team.

JCDHS Eagle Spring Sports Athletes pose for a photo following their Spring Awards Program


Principal Snyder leads Raiders to last sports event as their Commander and Chief
Pictured front from left are Lacy Ward, Lakin Davis, Abbey Lemon, Courtney Walker, Erica Ester and Belinda Mockbee. Standing are Principal Bill Snyder, Ariel Lawburgh, Kyle Taylor, Ben Montgomery, Jared Rogers, Boys Golf Coach Greg Huntington, Cross Country and Track & Field Coach Sam Durham and Assistant Coach Troy Mohr. The Raiders will now be led in the 2007-2008 school year by their new principal, Bob Meyer.