Local citizens to be honored
Lt. Governor to speak at chamber event

Cathy May, Contributing Writer

Indiana’s Lt. Governor Becky Skillman will be the keynote speaker at the Ripley County Chamber of Commerce’s Annual meeting on Tuesday, October 30.

The Indiana website says of Skillman, “Lt. Governor Becky Skillman is committed to revitalizing Indiana’s economy for the benefit of all Hoosiers. A native of southern Indiana, Becky understands the importance of bringing economic development to all regions of the state. She is a long standing champion of Indiana communities and has led the way in rebuilding our state’s small cities and towns.”

“Becky brings a strong background in local and state government. She held county offices for 16 years and served as president of the Association of Indiana Counties. She went on to serve 12 years in the Indiana Senate, quickly rising to a position of leadership. In 2004 Becky joined Mitch Daniels in his bid to become governor. Together, they sought to renew Indiana’s economy and move the state forward. Upon election Becky became the state’s 50th Lieutenant Governor.”

In addition to serving as the state’s second in command, Skillman oversees the State Department of Agriculture, the Office of Community and Rural Affairs, the Office of Energy and Defense Development, Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority, and the Office of Tourism Development. She chairs the Indiana Counter Terrorism and Security Council.

There will also be an update on Honda at the meeting that will be held at the South Ripley Elementary School and catered by Lil' Charlies. The dinner and program will be $15.00. Come at 5:00 p.m. for registration and a silent auction. The dinner will be at 6:00 p.m.

This year’s annual award winners have been selected. Citizen of the Year is Roseyln McKittrick, longtime tourism advocate from Milan. The Educator of the Year is Ted Ahaus, superintendent of South Ripley schools. And the Business Person of the Year is Dr. Chris Brown, Versailles dentist, who is celebrating his 25th year in practice.

This is the 15th anniversary of the chamber and all past board members and past award winners will be introduced. For reservations, contact Jean Nichols at the chamber office at 689-6654.