Osgood Journal Sports
February 24, 2009

Final horn Welch dunk puts exclamation point on hard fought Raider victory over Tigers

Gary Franklin, Sports Writer

A battle outcome that most would have predicted a Lawrenceburg Tiger win found a different outcome once the final overtime horn had sounded. The South Ripley Raider varsity boys basketball team earned a six point victory at 74-68 victory on Wednesday, February 18, after playing to a 63-63 tie through regulation game time.
The Raiders hosted the Switzerland County Pacers in their first outing at the newly constructed Raiders Den, only to come up five points short at that game's end, 55-60.
A solid team effort by the Raiders included the expected non-flashy performance by senior Andy Miller with 22 points, accompanied by a host of Raider teammates' performances.
Perhaps the gym's opening outcome ignited the spark needed to propel the Raider team and supply the extra fuel to take a likely loss (based on the team's records) and instead create an overtime victory, solidly stamped in the closing moments by a crashing 6' 5" senior Thomas Welch two handed slam jam dunk.
Varsity Score by Quarter
Law'burg 19-13 So. Ripley
Law'burg 37-31 So. Ripley
So. Ripley 52-49 Law'burg
So. Ripley 63-63 Law'burg
So. Ripley 74-68 Law'burg
South Ripley Raiders 74
Andy Miller 22
Brian Thomas 19
Chase Grider 13
Thomas Welch 11
Thad Fleming 4
Jordan Bodenberg 4
Seth Leonard 1
Non-scoring Raiders: Kevin Gullion, Denny Mayes and Kile Huss.
Lawrenceburg Tigers 68
Jim Faehr 23
Sean Powell 18
Sean Snider 14
Justin Ricketts 6
Corbin Pratt 5
Dakota McElley 2
Non-scoring Tigers: Aaron Frizzell, Derrick Robertson, Sam Ritzmann, Brett Bondurant, Matt Davis, Travis Conover and Zach Johnson.
SR Raider vs L'burg Tiger JV
Raiders 55-34 Tigers
JV Quarter Scores
South Ripley 17- 1 Law'burg
South Ripley 30-15 Law'burg
South Ripley 42-24 Law'burg
South Ripley 55-34 Law'burg
South Ripley Raider JV 55
Chris Allison 15
Tanner Tucker 12
Jordan Walters 7
Jonathan Grossman 7
Jerad Walters 6
Sam Stratton 4
Dylan Groves 4
Non-scoring Raiders: Denny Mayes, Patrick Scott, Cody King and Jake Waldron.
Lawrenceburg Tiger JV 34
Evan Schoeff 4
Aaron Frizzell 8
Matt Davis 8
Travis Conover 4
Myles Hinds 7
Evan Pollard 2
Kyle Craven 1
Non-scoring Tiger JV players: Sam Kohurst, Max Baker, Ethan Brunner and Adam Schiller.