Gold Star Chili coming to Versailles
If you attended the Versailles Pumpkin Show Parade on Saturday, September 26 you may have seen this sleek black limousine with the announcement that Gold Star Chili was coming soon to the area. It's true! Mark Rulli, owner of five Gold Star Chilis told The Versailles Republican on Tuesday of this week that plans are in the works to come to Versailles. Actually, his plans are to be serving the delicious menu by the Spring of 2010. He has ideas to expand the menu beyond the traditional items, but that's still a secret. The restaurant will be located on Washington and Main streets between Integra Bank and the Shell Station. If all goes as planned, there will also be two other available units at the site, which Rulli wasn't able to comment on at this time. He and his wife Kristi have ties to the area as she was crowned the Versailles Pumpkin Show Queen in 1992. Watch for more details in an upcoming in-depth interview with the Rullis and their decision to come to Versailles. Scott and Cindy Neal of Osgood were the owners of the property.






Wanda English Burnett

This year both of the Ripley County Community Foundation 2009 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars were seniors from Jac-Cen-Del High School.

Gerald Hardesty and Valorie Wagner were surprised on Monday morning, April 6 when representatives from the Ripley County Community Foundation swept into the school and made the announcement. They will both receive full tuition to the Indiana college of their choice and an $800 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

Hardesty is the son of David and Jennifer Hardesty of Osgood. He plans to major in mechanical engineering but is undecided about his college selection. He was a member of the State Champion Jac-Cen-Del basketball team and winner of the Trester Award, which was given for mental attitude, academics, and sportsmanship. He has participated in soccer, basketball, and baseball his entire high school career. He is also a semi-finalist for the Coca-Cola Scholarship. He has been involved in National Honor Society, CYO, Spanish Club and math Academic Team. He also serves as the senior class president.

Wagner is the daughter of Dennis and Flora Wagner of Osgood. She plans to major in exercise science and attend the University of Indiana. Throughout her high school career, she has participated in cross country, track, basketball, and softball. She has also been a class officer, involved in 4-H, CYO, FCA, Art Club, Sunshine Society and National Honor Society.

Principal Johnny Budd said the school is very proud of these students.

The scholarship committee making the decision for the recipients of this scholarship is composed of Ripley County residents, representing all areas of the county. The committee is not aware of whose application they are viewing as names and schools of students applying for the scholarships are removed from the applications. At the interviews of the finalists, the students are only introduced by their first names, allowing for as much objectivity as possible.

There were 77 applicants for these scholarships in Ripley County this year, drawing from six high schools. Eight outstanding students are chosen as finalists for these prestigious awards. After the Ripley County Community Foundation Scholarship Committee narrowed the field to eight nominees, the finalists' names were submitted to the Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for the selection of the recipients.

ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree. There were 216 scholarships awarded statewide.

Each Ripley County finalist not receiving one of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships will be awarded one of the Ripley County Community Scholarships of $1000.

Those receiving the 2009 Ripley County Community Foundation Scholarships are: Clinton Covert, East Central High School, son of Tracy Covert of Sunman; Chelsea Durham, South Ripley High School, daughter of Sam and Nancy Durham of Osgood; Ryan Hartman, Batesville High School, son of Bill and Barb Hartman of Batesville; Lucy Glaser, Oldenburg Academy, daughter of Thomas and Susan Glaser of Batesville; Audrey Huffmeyer, Jac-Cen-Del High School, daughter of Douglas and Susan Huffmeyer of Osgood; and Christopher Meyer, Batesville High School, son of Greg and Cindy Meyer of Batesville.

Jac-Cen-Del seniors Gerald Hardesty and Valorie Wagner were named the recipients of full tuition, four-year scholarships as the Ripley County Community Foundation 2009 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars. Pictured above from left are: Sally Morris, executive director of the RCCF, Jennifer Hardesty, Gerald Hardesty with the award, David Hardesty, and Jane Deiwert, RCCF. Pictured below are: Sally Morris, executive director of RCCF, Jane Deiwert, RCCF, Flora Wagner, Valorie Wagner, holding the coveted award, Dennis Wagner, and Austin and Rebecca, siblings of the recipient.