Officers installed for Republican Women's Club

Wanda English Burnett

Ripley County Republicans gathered at the Holton Community Building for their December meeting and the installation of officers for the women’s club.

County Chair Ginger Bradford emceed the event where Earline Copeland was installed as president; Janice Reiners as first vice-president; and Amber May, secretary; and Carla Miller as treasurer for the 2010-2011 year.

Tammy Wenning of Greensburg, addressed the group announcing her candidacy for State Representative. This would be for the seat that Cleo Duncan now holds.

Travis Hankins was also in attendance and announced his candidacy for a congressional seat - the one currently held by Congressman Baron Hill. He gave the crowd a brief rundown of his platform, saying he puts his “Christian values first” and believes in the “absolute right to life” among other traditional conservative values. He addressed the economy and federal spending. He asks for his constituents' “prayers and support.” For more information about Hankins you can go online:

State Representative Cleo Duncan was in attendance and spoke briefly saying she has thoroughly enjoyed her time representing the people of Ripley County, among others. She announced her intentions to continue working hard this next year until she is out of office. “I will continue to serve all of you. I was never a stranger here (Ripley County).” She said she has been honored and blessed to have served the people.

Former local chairmen of the Republican party, Don Dickey and Kenny Copeland attended the meeting with praise for the new chair, Bradford, who they said was “doing a great job.”

Copeland admonished those running for office, locally or otherwise, to “always remember where you came from.”

Ripley County Republican Chair Ginger Bradford, left, installs officers for the Ripley County Republican Women's Club. Pictured taking the oath are: Earline Copeland, president, Janice Reiners, first vice-president, Amber May, secretary and Carla Miller, treasurer. The officers will serve for the year 2010-2011. The event was held at the Holton Community Building.