Many awards given out at Milan School Board mtg.

Beth Rumsey

Staff Writer

Congratulations were in order for several Milan students who were recognized for their achievements at the regular school board meeting on Monday, May 17.

High school principal Rich Healy recognized art students Neil Herzog and Jeremy Allen for their placements in the Ninth Congressional District Art Contest. Allen placed first for his entry Momento Man with Herzog receiving an honorable mention.

Several Southeastern Career Center students received certificates for Most Outstanding Performance including Aston Calhoun, first year Facility Maintenance; Katelyn Tillman, first year Health Careers; Laura Kaufman, Medical Office Administration; Erica Hardy, Cosmetology; and Sara Loges, Most Outstanding MHS student. Josh Berger placed third in the Skills USA State competition.

SCC scholarships were awarded to Terrika Burger, $1000 40/8 Nursing scholarship; Laura Kaufman $1000 Ivy Tech scholarship and $500 SE IN REMC Business scholarship; and Cody Rothschild, $1000 River City Classics scholarship.

Other recognitions were given to Alicia Fryman who received the Influential Educator Award for the small school division and Alex Walter accepted a plaque for the school in recognition for his receiving the Indianapolis Star Academic All-Star Award.

The school also received recognition for the work of the staff and school nurses during the H1N1 vaccination clinics. The high school band received silver and gold medals at the ISSMA Concert contest.
The student transfer policy was amended by the board. Effective July 1 those interested in transferring to Milan schools will be reviewed each year with the cost of tuition waived.

In other business:

• The Milan Junior High SADD field trip to King's Island was approved. The National Junior Honor Society trip to Dave and Busters was approved.

• Retirement notifications include Judy Pollen, Rebecca Buses, Kent Lockwood, Bob Anger, Tom Cook, Rita Negatived, and Peggy Norman.

• Resignation notifications included Linda Olker for high school academic team; middle school spell bowl and SADD; Roy Adams, wrestling coach; and Maria Reuter as special education aid.

All board members were in attendance. The next meeting will be on June 31 beginning at 7 p.m. at the elementary school cafeteria.