The Versailles Republican Sports

March 17, 2011

2010-11 ORVC Annual Winter Sports Award Banquet held

Gary Franklin, Sports Writer

The annual celebration of ORVC (Ohio River Valley Conference) winter sports athletes and coaches and their basketball season accomplishments was recognized and honored at The Pines Restaurant in Madison on Wednesday, March 9.
The programs are passed between the seven schools making up the conference which include: Jac-Cen-Del, Milan, Rising Sun, South Ripley, Southwestern Hanover, Switzerland County, and this years host school, Shawe Memorial.
Shawe athletic director Travis Calvert opened the evenings program with a congratulations to those in attendance and a welcome to the winter athletic segment of the conference school year. Retiring Hilltopper head boys basketball coach following the conclusion of this season, and remaining principal Jerry Bomholt offered the blessing before dismissal to the availed buffet meal.
Following the meal, AD Calvert proceeded to announce the ORVC champion varsity team, the All-ORVC conference Girls team as selected by a vote of the conference coaches and the girls JV and varsity squad "Coaches of the Year".
Girls awards presented
Girls All-conference Team members included: South Ripley Lady Raiders: Jessica Foster, Kasey King and Whitney Walker, Jac-Cen-Del Lady Eagles: Becca Wagner, Alyssa Hammond and Hailee Sizemore, Switzerland County Lady Pacers: Hayley South, Kristen Perry and Trisha Smith, Southwestern Hanover Lady Rebels: Brandi Ponder and Kelsey Jones, Rising Sun Lady Shiner: Megan Pickett and Shawe Lady Hilltopper: Hannah Roberts. No Milan Lady Indian selection was made.
The girls Mental Attitude Award designee was senior Lady Eagle Becca Wagner.
ORVC varsity girls champions were the South Ripley Lady Raiders, with Head Lady Raider Coach Brian Samples named "Coach of the Year". This years JV champion Southwestern Hanover Lady Rebels were coached by Camille Deuser.
Boys awards presented
Boys All-conference Team members included: Jac-Cen-Del Eagles: Trevor Arnett, Derek Lunsford and Matt Speer, South Ripley Raiders: Brandon Sizemore, Jerad Walters, Milan Indian: John Herzog, Switzerland County Pacers: Adam Clark and Keegan Kincaid, Southwestern Hanover Rebel: Hunter Means, Rising Sun Shiner: Nathan Hannan and Shawe Hilltoppers: Jacob Sanders, Nico Mingione and Michael Kring.
Three Mental Attitude Awards were presented: Ethan Voss of Milan Indians, Zachary Hubbard of Southwestern Hanover Rebels and Michael Kring of Shawe Memorial Hilltoppers.
The ORVC varsity boys co-conference champions were the Jac-Cen-Del Eagles behind head Eagle boys coach David Bradshaw and the Shawe Memorial Hilltoppers behind retiring head coach Jerry Bomholt.
Coaches Bradshaw and Bomholt were named "Co-ORVC Coaches of the Year". This years JV champion Jac-Cen-Del Eagles were coached by Steve Narwold.
ORVC All-Sports Award
points total
through winter sports
South Ripley Raiders 69
Jac-Cen-Del Eagles 64
Switzerland Co. Pacers 52
S'western Han. Rebels 47
Shawe Mem Hilltoppers 42
Rising Sun Shiners 32
Milan Indians 17
South Ripley Raiders 34
Jac-Cen-Del Eagles 30
Switzerland Co. Pacers 25
S'western Han. Rebels 24
Shawe Mem Hilltoppers 17
Rising Sun Shiners 15
Milan Indians 11
South Ripley Raiders 35
Jac-Cen-Del Eagles 34
Switzerland Co. Pacers 27
Shawe Mem Hilltoppers 25
S'western Han. Rebels 23
Rising Sun Shiners 17
Milan Indians 6

2010-11 Girls ORVC All-conference Team
Pictured above front from left are the Ohio River Valley Conference selected All conference girls team, as named by a vote of conference coaches: Jac-Cen-Del Lady Eagle Alyssa Hammond, Southwestern Hanover Lady Rebel Kelsey Jones, South Ripley Lady Raider Kasey King, Switzerland County Lady Pacer Kristen Perry, Rising Sun Lady Shiner Megan Pickett, Southwestern Hanover Lady Rebel Brandi Ponder and Shawe Memorial Lady Hilltopper Hannah Roberts. Standing are: South Ripley Lady Raider head coach Brian Samples, Jac-Cen-Del Lady Eagle Hailee Sizemore, Switzerland County Lady Pacer Trisha Smith, Switzerland County Lady Pacer Hayley South, Jac-Cen-Del Lady Eagle Becca Wagner (also Mental Attitude Award recipient) and South Ripley Lady Raider Whitney Walker. Unavailable for photo, South Ripley Lady Raider Jessica Foster.


2010-11 Girls ORVC All-conference Team
Pictured above front from left are the Ohio River Valley Conference selected All conference boys team, as named by a vote of conference coaches: Switzerland County Pacer Adam Clark, Rising Sun Shiner Nathan Hannan, Milan Indian John Herzog, Switzerland County Pacer Keegan Kincaid, Shawe Memorial Hilltopper Michael Kring (also Mental Attitude Award recipient), Jac-Cen-Del Eagle Derek Lunsford, and Southwestern Hanover Rebel Hunter Means. Standing are: "Co-Coach of the Year" Jerry Bomholt of the Shawe Hilltoppers, Shawe Hilltopper Nico Mingione, Jac-Cen-Del Eagle Matt Speer, Shawe Hilltopper Jacob Sanders, South Ripley Raider Brandon Sizemore, South Ripley Raider Jerad Walters, "Co-Coach of the Year" David Bradshaw of the Jac-Cen-Del Eagles and the third Mental Attitude Award recipient - Southwestern Hanover Rebel, Zachary Hubbard. Unavailable for photo, Jac-Cen-Del Eagle Trevor Arnett.