Home | Archive | Place Classified | Subscribe | Where to Buy | About | Contact

Search only Ripley News

Osgood Journal Sports

August 20, 2013

Dedra Montgomery’s all-womens’ team captures A-Flight top spot in annual Jac-Cen-Del Eagle Classic amid 41 team slate, at North Branch

Pictured below from left are A Flight 1st Place @ 17 under Deb Jett, Dedra Montgomery, Angela Gauck, and Pam White followed by 8 under, the B Flight 1st place team Daryl Hardesty, Tony Puttebough, Kyle Harlemert, and Bryan Youngman.

A and B Flight first place winners

By Gary Franklin

A first for the annually held Jac-Cen-Del Eagle Classic Golf Tournament, in more ways than one, made 2013 special. First off, 42 paying teams entered, with 41 teams of four members showing up to participate.
Secondly, an all women’s team laid claim to the A-Flight top spot, after shooting an outstanding round at 17 under par. Ironically, finding themselves ready to hit the course a player short of the needed four for a team, an invitation was extended to Angela Gauck to play on captain Dedra Montgomery’s team, which resulted in a victory over the 40 other teams, none of which was an all women's team. Jac-Cen-Del guidance counselor Dedra Montgomery’s team included South Ripley Athletic Director Deb Jett, Pam White, North Branch Golf Course Instructor Angela Gauck, and Montgomery.

The day was sunny with a slight breeze and deemed by many to be picture perfect for the outing. The overall slate of teams was divided in half for a two flight top three winning team result. The A Flight top winner at 17 under was Montgomery’s Maidens. Also at 17 under, the A Flight second place earners playing under the sponsorship of Margaret Mary Health and Osgood Primary Care was Todd Keene’s foursome which included Rob Daugherty, Josh Wheeler, Switzerland County Pacer Golf Coach Natalie Wheeler, and Captain Keene. Shooting 16 under, the A Flight third place finishers were Brian Samples’ team which included Samples, Bill Vankirk, Samuel Melton and Brian Armbrecht. Daryl Hardesty’s team of Tony Puttebough, Kyle Harlemert and Bryan Youngman claimed the B Flight top spot at 8 under.

At 7 under, the B Flight second-place earners were Brandon Gehl’s team including Matt Gehl, Bill Liquoir and Justin Huff. Also shooting their round at 7 under, Dave Bultman’s Grub Company team were the B Flight third-place finishers. His team included Stanley Shadday, Jesse Comer and Chuck Gill. Longest Putt earners included Denny Dennett, Rob Garnett andf Bill Warren. Closest to Pin were Matt Hicks, Jerry Caldwell and Jesse Comer.

Longest Drive earners were Carrie McNew, Ken Harlemert and Stanley Shadday. The 50/50 was won by Grant Gilland with Dedra Montgomery and Brandon Gehl laying claim to Skins Pot. Jac-Cen-Del Athletic Director Mark Meyer thanked the participants and sponsors of this year’s event, along with a reminder to mark their calendars for next year’s event slated for the third Saturday in August.

Pick up today's edition of the Osgood Journal for more information on the JCD Eagle Classic Golf Tournament.